Introduction

My name is Daniel Jack Paproth. I like to include my middle name out of respect for my late grandfather, “Big Jack”, a man I admired who passed away in 2006, a man I would have liked to have known better. Hindsight is a wonderful thing.

I’m 21 years old, lover of music, live music, good comedies and sport. I can’t write or perform music, I’m not funny enough to make a career out of being funny, and I definitely can’t play sport. This all led me to one thing I am good at – writing.

Many Australian (Victorian, non-Victorians will argue) children dream of becoming an AFL player, of kicking the winning goal after the siren in the Grand Final. It was a situation I lived out whenever I had a football in my hands, but I soon came to understand my complete lack of talent would prevent me from realising that dream. So I decided to write about it instead.

I had my own football league (the aptly titled “DAFL”), which involved me running from our backyard to the frontyard with my treasured Auskick footy, playing out the latest match. I also had a word doc, which I updated profusely with scores, goalkickers, best players, Brownlow votes, stats, news, anything else that I felt was important.

When I couldn’t play, due to it being past my bedtime, I annoyed my parents by commentating games for hours as I drifted off to sleep at night.

I was older than I care to say when the DAFL finally dissolved.

Writing is part of who I am. In Grade Two, under the guidance of the very cool Mr Mac, I wrote more stories than anyone else in the class. I still have every single one of them – among them were Men In Black III (I was well ahead of the times), which saw aliens invading a football game at the Gabba until Agents K and J saved the day, and numerous stories involving Geelong (my footy team) winning games against all-comers by sizable margins (again, I was well ahead of the times).

This interest in sport, footy (and a little later, cricket) in particular led me down the path of sports writing. I am currently lucky enough to be employed at the Melbourne Weekly, where I am the “sports guy” and I have had articles on football and cricket published for a whole range of publications since I was 16.

This is a blog for interviews and stories I’ve found interesting, live music reviews and assorted ramblings. Enjoy, and please, write as many comments as you want!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Introduction

  1. Mr WordPress says:

    Hi, this is a comment.
    To delete a comment, just log in, and view the posts’ comments, there you will have the option to edit or delete them.

  2. amieekid says:

    Love it.

Leave a Reply

